Tote bag

A tote bag and I did something naughty

With my day off yesterday, I went and bought one of these:

And by naughty, I suppose I mean because I had this undefined, unspoken idea that I was going to spend less money this year. But, it wasn’t a ridiculous amount of money and well, I just really wanted one! For anyone interested, this Janome J3-24ย sewing machineย is from Direct Sewing Machines in Bristol.

Therefore, there is probably going to be a little more mention of sewing around here. I know from experience that if sewing is not your thing, seeing blog posts about it just turns you off. To that end, I thought I might confine any sewing related posts to one of the weekend days. That way, you can easily avoid it if you wish. Since today is Saturday, let’s stick to Sewing Saturday (alliteration and all that).

This week, I finished the tote bag with lining and inside zipped pocket. I am really pleased with my first project and have used it a number of times since finishing it on Thursday. The fabric was from John Lewis and the lining and zip from Fabricland in Bristol. It took 6-8 hours and cost ~ยฃ5 to make.

I was so happy with it, and had so much fun making it, that I have already purchased the fabric to make one for my sister. Lucky lady!

And now I’m off to get started! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

