Colette // Iris shorts

This Sewing Saturday post comes in the shape of shorts.

These shorts were actually the first piece of clothing I made (read: finished) and I was really happy with how they turned out. Of course, you will notice how shoddily my invisible zipper insertion is! And I probably should’ve fixed that. *slapped wrist* But they are really comfortable! The purple zip was the only invisible zip I had at the time but with the purple flowers in this cotton/linen blend fabric, I think I just about get away with it. Maybe not. There are some slight issues with the zipper reaching the top. But, I liked them so much, I made them in a navy flowery print as well! The zip was much better on those pair. 😉

 

Colette — Iris  |  £12 Printed Pattern  |  Beginner

Fabric

Beige and flower print, cotton/linen blend. Navy flower print, cotton. Fabricland, Bristol, each ~£4 per metre.

Sizing and cutting
  • Size: I cut a size 6 and it fit out of the packet.
  • Adjustment(s): None
  • Fabric: As you can see, I didn’t pattern match; the fabric is busy enough. The stretch of the fabric means they do give a little. This is what makes them so comfortable! Once washed, they return to their original shape. I made the same size in the navy flowery cotton and that doesn’t have as much give so they are a little tighter. Both pairs were lined in white cotton lawn.
Pattern instructions

The pattern instructions were very good and easy to follow. The second time around, very little reference to the pattern instructions was required.

Fitting and alterations

Only one real alternation:

  • Lining: the pattern does not provide details on lining the shorts but I decided to line them. This involves cutting the same pieces for the shorts, without creating the pockets, and joining them at the top of the shorts before adding the waistband.

Yay! No adjustments to the pattern pieces needed.

Finishing
  • Seams: I made these when I had access to an overlocker so the seams had a purdy, professional finish.
  • Lining: As I mentioned above, I lined the pockets and shorts with white cotton lawn.
  • Hem: I actually hand stitched the lining for the beige pair (!) and machine top-stitched the navy pair.

Despite the dodgy zip, I’m happy with the beige pair. They are my go-to shorts for holidays and around the house.

Working on…

1. Tilly And The Buttons — Lilou Dress  |  Traced pattern  |  Book £10 on Amazon

Yup, still working on this. It’s been rather calamitous! After a disaster with a broken zip that left me stuck in the dress until I could get the zip down, and fabric that has given way too much at the seams, I put this to one side for a little while.

Also, I’ve not really been able, or wanted to touch any fabric the last week or so as I managed to pick up impetigo whilst at a party where they hold playgroups! But antibiotics finally cured me and I should be able to get back on the sewing wagon.

2. Neon Dot Canvas Totes  |  Basic Tote pattern

For our sponsored charity at work, FareShare Southwest, we are hosting a Craft Fair where I plan to sell canvas tote bags decorated with neon dots, zippered polka dot pouches and possibly some geometric cushions. Watch this space!

Other news…

1. Celebrate Indie Patterns competition win  |  3 x By Hand London patterns

I won a competition! That basically never happens. After posting a review of a By Hand London pattern; my Georgia you saw last time, on Pattern Review, I was chosen at random to receive three By Hand London patterns of my choice! 😀 To diversify my pattern collection slightly I opted for the Holly Jumpsuit, Anna Dress and Victoria Blazer. I really would recommend becoming part of Pattern Review, subscribing to their newsletter and watching out for their competitions.Today, after the success of the trip to London’s Goldhawk Road with some members of my old sewing and dressmaking class, we are currently perusing the fabric on offer at Birmingham Rag Market followed by a trip to Guthrie & Ghani. I am on the hunt for some fabric for an Anna Dress for our 1920’s themed Work Christmas Ball. What fabric and colour to go for?!

2. Lauren to Sew with Lauren  |  Signed Book £25 at Guthrie & Ghani |  Book £17 on Amazon

In addition to the sewing and dressmaking books now gracing my shelves that I mentioned last time, I also received a free copy of Learn to Sew with Lauren after subscribing to Love Sewing magazine. If anyone is interested, I definitely recommend a subscription.Lauren’s book comes with 5 adult garments with multi-size patterns in handy little envelopes at the front and back of the book. I already have my eye on several of the projects!

3. I have an overlocker!  |  Singer 14SH754  |  £129 Lidl

I almost could not believe this deal at Lidl! They were selling Singer overlockers for £129 AND Singer sewing machines for £99. This overlocker is priced at £300 in Hobbycraft and £250 on Amazon. I was not passing this opportunity up! And so I was the first person in my local Lidl store when they opened at 8am and bagged myself the first overlocker. 😀 I haven’t used her yet as I’m still a little scared, but soon!Do keep your eyes peeled for Lidl offers like this as I’m told they do them perhaps every year. Maybe Aldi too.

Has anyone else been sewing or crafting? What’s on your table?

Disclaimer: This is not a sponsored post. I purchased all items mentioned myself. All views expressed are my own.

3 thoughts on “Colette // Iris shorts

Leave a Reply

