Halloween 2015: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles April O’Neil and a vintage 1970s jumpsuit

How’re we all doing? Just a very quick one here to share my Halloween outfit with you all!

For those of you who follow me on social media, you may already be aware of me sewing a vintage 1970s jumpsuit pattern: Simplicity 7310 to be precise, which I picked up in a size 12 on Etsy from cornehl. All the way from America! The ten day wait for it to arrive was definitely making me sweat a little. But arrive, it finally did!

Behold the pattern instructions, pieces and minimal muslin.

I won’t go into the details too much — as there are some very detailed posts on Pigs in Pajamas who used the same pattern for the same outfit — except to say, I made the legs straight and took the sleeves in. I also redrafted the collar to be a convertible collar (this might be an American term), sewn by following Sarah Pondevie’s very good YouTube tutorial. The fabric is  yellow poly cotton drill, from Fabric Land (Bristol) for £4.99 per metre.

And I’m really happy with how it turned out! What do you think?! I even finished on time, without having to rush. Almost unheard of!

April O'Neil

Oh, and I cut all my hair off. I was going to do it a few weeks ago but thought I would combine it with the outfit.

So, did anyone else make anything for Halloween? What else is on your sewing table?

I shall back very soon with another Taking Stock post.

3 thoughts on “Halloween 2015: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles April O’Neil and a vintage 1970s jumpsuit

  1. Great costume idea! I used to go all out for halloween and once even made a corset and short crinoline for a ‘Marie Antoinette’ costume. I always felt a bit silly when it came to leaving the house though… I have warm things for a birthday trip on the agenda.

    Like

  2. Do you still have the April o Neil costume?
    My wife has been looking for quite some time
    Would you consider parting with it?
    If so at what cost?

    Like

Leave a Reply

