Getting to know me

I’ve spoken many, many times before about how wonderful the sewing community is. Blogging, Instagram, Twitter. And I’m one of the lucky ones who knows other sewists in real life. But without the online community, it just would not be the same. I’d have nowhere near as much to swoon over for a start.

A little while ago now, the wonderful and very talented Rebecca of Red W Sews blog nominated me for a Liebster Blog Award. Thank you so much! I thoroughly enjoyed reading her answers to the set of questions her own nominator gave her. So, I wanted to answer the questions she set me, and since things have been a little quiet around here, why not now?

What do you enjoy most about writing a blog?
Just being a part of the sewing community is great, and I love every single comment I receive. I also like documenting my progress. There are so many makes I am yet to blog though, as well as other posts I want to write, e.g. showing you my sewing space!

How do you go about deciding when to blog: do you have a regular schedule or is it just when you’re inspired?
A bit of both. I plan the Taking Stock posts for roughly once a month but for posts detailing finished projects, it’s just whenever I’ve both finished and gotten around to photographing them. Sadly, that’s why so many finished items haven’t graced the blog yet; taking photos is the most time consuming part and dependent on the weather! I’ll just have to get a move on with this!

Which post/project are you most proud of?
That’s a good question! I’ll have to go for something I’ve not blogged (see answer above); a full length — and fully lined — By Hand London Anna Dress which I made for my 2014 work Christmas party. Probably the best quality garment I’ve made so far. Just a shame I have no real chances to wear it these days. Maybe I should crack if out for this year’s NYE party even if I would be a little overdressed…

What’s your best tip for making time for yourself?
This is going to be a rubbish answer because I really don’t have any good tips for this. I simple like to strike when I feel the need or desire.

What did you learn from your biggest “failure”, either crafting or otherwise?
We’ll stick to crafting and my answer comes in the form of a By Hand London Victoria Blazer last year (and in linking to that, I’ve just discovered they seem to have some printed patterns left in their shop!). I’d bought some really beautiful but expensive herringbone wool during a trip to Guthrie & Ghani in Birmingham. I was so eager to sew a Victoria in it that I didn’t make a toile and paid very little attention to the finished measurements. It was huge! And the boyfriend style isn’t something I really would’ve gone for. It hadn’t started well anyway when I managed to dye the lovely lining when washing it with the wool in the first place. It sat in my wardrobe for ages, until I altered the shoulders so they didn’t overhang as much. And now… it’s back in my wardrobe as I still dislike the fit so much. Lessons learned? 1. Look at the finished measurements, 2. make a toile!

What skill would you most like to learn (craft or life!)
To be able to drive! It’s something I still haven’t gotten around to learning and at 30 years of age, it’s almost a little embarrassing.

Should cash and time not be an issue, where would you head on holiday?
Great question! Japan or Canada.

What life achievement, away from blogging, are you most proud of and why?
I have to say my PhD. It was really bloody difficult and nearly broke me but was worth it in the end!

Tea or wine? (critical question, this one!)
I would’ve said wine (sparkling particularly) as I don’t really drink tea, or hot drinks! But something strange has happened this Christmas; I’ve had a cup of tea nearly every day! I might be becoming a tea drinker?!

Town or country?
I’m a town girl at heart! Countryside is beautiful and I really enjoy downtime there but have to get back to regular public transport, bars and people! Wouldn’t a home in both be ideal?!

Cats or dogs?
Dogs just edge it for me. But I’ve been known to warm to cats.

I understand the Liebster award should be passed on to others so, should they chose to accept it, I’d like to nominate Lynne of Ozzy Blackbeard and Leigh of Clueless Seamstress; two blogs I really love! And anyone else who’d like to join in. Here are my 10 questions:

  1. Why did you start blogging?
  2. What is your dream career?
  3. Favourite place you’ve visited and why?
  4. If you were stuck on a desert island and could only have three items, what would they be?
  5. Where would you like to be in 5 years time?
  6. What’s your favourite sewing tool?
  7. What’s top of your wish list right now?
  8. What was the best book you’ve read recently?
  9. If you could time travel to any decade, which would it be?
  10. Sweet or savoury?
6 thoughts on “Getting to know me

  1. Thanks for answering the questions Jen (and for the compliments ☺️). I love your answers! That Anna dress is so beautiful, is it possible to be overdressed on NYE? You look fab, wear it!! Xx

    Like

    • Oh no problem! Thanks for nominating me. It shouldn’t have taken me so long. Thanks a lot! I love the colour. Even if I don’t wear it for NYE, I’ve put it on my dress form Virginia so at least she will look cracking in it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

