MMMay16, days 1-6

Howdy partners! How are you today? How are we already a week into May?! This year is just speeding along!

Time for me to share my Me-Made-May progress with you. Must say, six days in and I’m pretty pleased so far. Let’s break it down.

MMMay16 1-6

Day 1 | My By Hand London Hawaiian Flora Dress, with fabric I picked up in Hawaii. The weather on Sunday was still quite chilly so a cardigan and tights were in order, although I had graduated to 25 denier!

Day 2 | After much intoxication the night before, Bank Holiday Monday was a pj day so I lounged in a checked pair I made from Lauren Guthrie’s Learn to Sew with Lauren book. The brushed cotton fabric was from Fabric Land in Bristol.

Day 3 | A freshly sewn (and now my third!) Sewaholic Belcarra blouse. For this Belcarra, I brought the neckline in a little using the Sewaholic tutorial: how to narrow the neckline. The fabric is some wonderfully soft and drapey polyester; Hermione from John Kaldor. Mine was from John Lewis in Birmingham but Sew Essential also have some for £10/metre, including some in a blue and red colourway.

Day 4Deer & Doe Belladone dress in some chambray swallows fabric from Higgs & Higgs for £6.99/metre. It says grey on the website but it’s more of a pale blue. My legs braved the chilly morning to enjoy the warm afternoon!

Day 5 | A By Hand London Flora skirt, using their waistband tutorial. The fabric is some linen-look cotton from Fabric Land in Bristol. The zip is a little worn at the top so might need replacing soon. :/

Day 6 | My foray into sewing jersey continues with my first Tilly and the Buttons Agnes top. This is a size 3, graded to a 4 at the hips which I really didn’t need to do as it’s a little loose here so I won’t do that next time. Initially, I thought about shortening the sleeves but actually, I like the length! It was sewn with a mix of my overlocker and regular sewing machine. The fabric — given to me by Sew Essential — is some super-soft cotton navy and white striped jersey for £9.30/metre. It was so nice to sew, with great recovery, and is even nicer to wear! I shall definitely be buying some of their other jerseys, probably the spots. I can barely resist spots!

I still have a number of makes to wear, although imagine I’ll have to re-wear at some point. There are a couple of quick makes on my sewing table that should help expand the collection, e.g. a BHL Charlotte skirt in stretch cotton. Oh and although #SewBrizzle is happening in June, I want to make a dress with some beautiful Atelier Brunette Blossom Viscose – Shell from Fabric Godmother which arrived a few days ago after I succumbed to their Bank Holiday sale!

Who else is joining in with Me-Made-May ’16? How’s it going? Do add a link below so I can check out your outfits! And if not, it’s not too late to start! Head on over to So, Zo…’s blog to find out more.

2 thoughts on “MMMay16, days 1-6

Leave a Reply

