All About Agnes

You might have seen my first Tilly and the Buttons Agnes top during Me Made May 2016 but I really thought she deserved her own blog post because she’s pretty scrumptious! In fact, I’ve made two now: the first was a stripey Agnes with beautiful cotton spandex very kindly gifted to me by Sew Essential UK. The second is a navy, feathers Agnes using Art Gallery Fabric (AGF) purchased from SEWN. I’m still in the honeymoon period with jersey (wait, does that ever end?!) with jersey and there are definitely going to be more of these.

TILLY AND THE BUTTONS AGNES TOP

I switch between wearing it tucked in and out. You can see I didn’t actually match the stripes at the shoulder seams (sssh!) but the side seams are matched like a mofo. See here. I also wonder if the sleeves are a little long, what do you think?

TILLY AND THE BUTTONS AGNES TOP

I should probably have yanked the fabric down a little at the back before taking this picture. There’s a bit of excess fabric in the back because I graded to a wider hip.

TILLY AND THE BUTTONS AGNES TOP

Close-up of the neckline, obviously. I cut the neckband on the fold with the long edges of the pattern piece aligned with a stripe in order to create a thin navy band all the way along. The alternative is to cut in the other direction, so you end up with lots of mini-stripes Γ  la Becca’s stripey Agnes.

Fabric

Stripey Agnes: Sew Essential UK’s Navy and white stripe print cotton spandex, Β£9.30/metre which they very kindly gave me to try. It is SO soft, has excellent recovery and has also washed very well; still looking very new after several washes. Sew Essential have a great selection of fabric and haberdashery; I challenge you to visit the website and not have many goodies end up in your basket. They also have a great blog written by the lovely Lucy (who, it turns out, went to school in the same town as me!), check out her stripey maxi dress.

Navy, feathers Agnes: I splashed out on 1m of Panache Profondo Cotton Knit, Β£18/metre at SEWN’s launch party in Bristol a few weeks ago. It is beautifully soft and was really nice to sew with. SEWN has many gorgeous fabrics, a range of different independent and vintage patterns, and is expanding everyday! I’m really struggling to resist this Shine, Atelier Brunette Cotton chambric

Sizing and cutting

I opted for the short sleeved version, with the following sizing for the two different versions:

Stripey Agnes: size 3 for the bust and waist, graded to a size 4 at the hips.
Navy, feathers Agnes: size 3 all over.

I thought it might be useful to include my measurements (approximately):

Bust: 33.5″
Waist: 27″
Hip: 38″

Fitting and alterations

No other alterations apart from the grading for my first version.

Pattern instructions

Tilly’s instructions are great, the photographs really aid in understanding. I have nothing else to say apart from it was a pleasure to make!

Finishing

Overlocking: I sewed this up on my overlocker, with the exception of applying the elastic to the shoulder seams and zig-zag topstitching (neckline, cuffs, hem).
Topstitching: Zig-zag on my regular sewing machine using a ballpoint needle.

Verdict

LOVE her, both of them! The navy, feathers Agnes feels a little more snug around the hips, thanks to going back to size 3 there, but the stripey one is a little too big there. So perhaps somewhere in the middle would be ideal, although it will all depend on the amount of stretch. I could probably get away with shorter sleeves but longer is a little more unusual perhaps.

Working on…

My next vlog! This will be an update on my makes for June including my Seamwork Addison, McCall’s 7331 jumpsuit for a friend, and more!

5 thoughts on “All About Agnes

Leave a Reply

