Deer and Doe Mélilot shirt

Deer and Doe // Mélilot Shirt

Well, August is going swimmingly! What, with the wonderful Sewing Weekender in Cambridge last weekend — which was absolutely brilliant, check out Gabby’s fabulous vlog about it — and this, my third make, in the form of Deer and Doe’s Mélilot Shirt. I used some wonderful Atelier Brunette Blossom Shell viscose I had leftover from a previous make. She’s a bright and breezy beaut! Let me tell you more about her.

Deer and Doe Mélilot shirtDeer and Doe Mélilot shirtDeer and Doe Mélilot shirtDeer and Doe Mélilot shirt Deer and Doe Mélilot shirt Deer and Doe Mélilot shirt

Fabric

As I mentioned, this is Atelier Brunette Blossom Shell viscose, from Fabric Godmother, which I had leftover from a By Hand London Flora dress. That dress has become my favourite at the moment because of the perfect marriage of pattern and fabric. Atelier Brunette fabric is truly worth the price.

Sizing and cutting

I cut a size 36 at the bust and waist, and graded out to a size 40 at the hips.

Fitting and alterations

None. Zilch. Nada! I know, damn happy with that.

Pattern instructions

Deer and Doe instructions have all of the necessary information in the instructions but they certainly don’t hold your hand through every single step. I like that! Plus, it makes the instructions shorter which is a good psychological motivator for finishing!

One thing I did miss was having a pattern piece for interfacing the button band. It’s pure laziness but I like to have pieces for everything I’m going to cut. I’ve now made myself a pattern piece for next time which is no big deal, it just would’ve been nice to have it. Or at least, it to be mentioned at the layplans stage (and not when I get to that pattern piece in the instructions) as I like to cut everything out in one go, at the beginning, and not go backwards and forwards. Hopefully that’s not just me?

Finishing

French seams: As per the pattern instructions, all of the side and shoulder seams are French seamed.
Hem, collar and cuffs: the hem is double folded and edge stitched. The collar and cuffs have all raw seams enclosed are also edge stitched.
Snaps: Snaps are back, back again. I told you I would not be defeated by these! And so added them instead of buttons.

Verdict

Love ‘er. I mean, how can I not?! She fit straight out the packet, is in a fabric I adore and she was an absolute pleasure to sew. Whilst the fit is certainly relaxed, I’m wondering if she’s still a little oversized in the sleeve/shoulder/underarm area? Perhaps I could cut a small size here, what do you think?

Working on…

Another little secret something which I hope to share with you all soon, finishing off my NL 6346 (they extended the deadline from end of August to end of September, and I need to sew buttonholes…) and Gingers! Yup, I cut them out so hopefully they’ll get sewn up soon.

Don’t forget, there’s still time to enter my giveaway to win a copy of The Great British Sewing Bee book, From Stitch to Style.

What are you sewing? Have you made a Mélilot?

12 thoughts on “Deer and Doe // Mélilot Shirt

  1. This shirt is utterly gorgeous, I love the fabric, it looks amazing as the Mélilot shirt which I’ve have been ogling (drooling over) for while. I think it looks great tucked in and it’s a total bonus it’s straight from the packet.

    Like

    • Thank you Lynsey! Yes, I’d been looking at Mélilot for a little while. I actually made her up about 2 weeks after she was added to my stash (that’s fast for me! Quite often, a pattern sits there for sometime before I get to it). Yes, I think I’ll always wear it tucked in.

      Like

  2. Hi Jen, I’ve just discovered your blog and youtube channel via a youtube recommendation, and I’m so glad I did! I really like your style, your writing and your makes of course! As for the oversize impression you have around the bust/underarm shoulder area, it could be partly because Deer & Doe patterns are drafted for D-cups. From the tops of this brand I’ve already sewn, I wonder also if it’s not drafted for broader shoulders than I have. So my solution with this brand is to trace a smaller size for what is above the underarm (for me typically it’s 40 for the shoulder, 42 for the bust and waist and 44 for the hips – that’s a lot of grading between sizes), this way I avoid gaping shoulders and necklines. Hope that helps!

    Like

    • Hi Sophie, thank you so much for your comment! Oh that’s good to know D&D patterns are drafted for a D-cup. I think I’ll do the same as you and grade in for the shoulders and also the under arm area. That really helps, thank you!

      Like

  3. This is lovely Jen. Well done for making snaps your bitch! Definitely not just you who hates going backwards and forwards. Gotta get all the cutting out of the way upfront.

    Like

Leave a Reply

